RSS

WIPMarathon Check-In #2

07 Apr

I’m pretty sure it’s been longer than a week since I last posted, and most people are way past done with this, but here’s my #WiPMarathon post for the … month? ;P

Last Check-in Wordcount + ChapterCount (+ scene count if you’re revising):
85K. 50? chapters, 1/3 of which I’d finished revising.

Current WC + CC (or SC):
105K. 59 chapters, though two I’m going to axe on the next pass and two more are just outlines at the moment. Still only 1/3 through the revisions because I keep adding new chapters.

WIP Issues this week:
I was writing a scene and kept revealing way too much of the plot to the main character in dialogue. I had to back up 3 or 4 chapters to tweak her conversations in order to not give away so much in that scene.

What I learned this week in writing:
Something about dialogue pacing. It was explained really well in an article I read, but I didn’t pay much attention after I realized that I was already doing fine, so I’m afraid I can’t quantify it like I should.

I also learned that conversations which go the way they should are boring. Much more fun when characters are so caught up in their own lives that they miss opportunities to ask all the right questions.

What distracted me this week while writing:
A cold. I’ve got it, my husband has it, the kids have all got it. The baby has it the worst off; normally they sleep when they’re sick, but he’s only managed an hour or two of nap total each day since he got it. So kind of distracting.

Last 200 words:
The words sent a chill down her back. They jarred with the white marble tiles, the finely decorated hall, the sounds of glasses and platters being cleared away by the service staff. Like his assertion that the Tesaad threat was a fabrication, they just didn’t seem real.

“Promise me one thing,” Governor Wirthlin said while Rosa was still sorting out her thoughts. “If you care about me, or about your father’s wishes, promise me you’ll stay away from Doctor Andrews.”

Rosa shook her head; that was the one thing that she wouldn’t promise. “I can’t do that. This project means too much to me, and I’ll see it through to the end with or without your help.” The bitterness of her grandfather’s disappointment was so deep that Rosa almost took back the words. Instead, she pressed on. “And if you’re right, and we really are headed to war … understand now that I won’t be able to stand aside.”

She came to attention before curtsying, as she had done with Major Dobbs, and Governor Wirthlin gathered himself, straightening his shoulders and taking a deep breath.

“I know you won’t,” Rosa heard him say as she walked away. “You’re too much like him.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
